Saturday, 26 January 2013

New Provinces in Pakistan Unanimously Decided Name of new Province.

Bill on new provinces finalised, PML-N boycotts
A parliamentary commission on new provinces in Pakistan unanimously decided name of new province.

ISLAMABAD: The aforesaid commission has decided that new province in Punjab will be named as ‘Bahawalpur Janobi (south) Punjab’ BJP, report said on Saturday.

According to sources, the commission’s report has been finalised and it will be presented in the National Assembly’s session on Monday.

The commission has decided that Mianwali and Bhakhar would also be included in the new province.

The commission also suggested that Multan would be capital of new proposed province while Governor House would be established in Bahawalpur.

 As per the recommendations, the name of new province would be ‘Bahawalpur South Punjab’, having 124 and 59 seats for provincial and national assembly respectively.

Provincial Election Commission and High Court will also be established in the recommended province.

Farhatullah Babar, the member of the commission, said that the nation would hear good news soon.

Senator Farhatullah Babar, the Chairman of the commission presided over the meeting. The members hailing from Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) continued their boycott and did not participate in the meeting.

Talking to media after the meeting, Babar noted the constitutional bill regarding the establishment of new province, has been finalized.

Jamshed Dasti, a member of the commission said the members have signed the bill, adding the new province will have one capital, not two.

 The controversial 14-member parliamentary commission had been constituted in August of last year by the speaker of the National Assembly and comprises Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) Senators Farhatullah Babar and Syeda Sughra Imam, Awami National Party (ANP) Senator Haji Mohammad Adeel, Pakistan Muslim League-Q (PML-Q) Senator Kamil Ali Agha and PML-N Senator Malik Muhammad Rafique Rajwana, JUI-F Senator Maulana Abdul Ghafoor Haidri, PPP MNAs Arif Aziz Sheikh, Jamshed Ahmed Dasti, Syed Ali Musa Gilani, PML-N MNAs Tehmina Daultana and Chaudhry Saud Majeed, as well as MQM’s Dr Farooq Sattar.

No comments:

Post a Comment